Find Laws Find Lawyers Free Legal Forms USA State Laws
Home » Legal News » Idaho Approved by Obama Administration for NCLB Flexibility

Idaho Approved by Obama Administration for NCLB Flexibility

October 18, 2012 07:21pm  
Idaho Approved by Obama Administration for NCLB Flexibility

On October 17, 2012, the U.S. Department of Education announced that Idaho is the latest state to receive approval for flexibility from the No Child Left Behind Act (NCLB).  Now, 34 states have been approved by the Obama Administration to adopt state plans and amend procedures set forth by the NCLB.  

States that received approval have formed plans to help all students prepare for college or a career, provide aid and focus on the students with the most needs, and encourage teaching and leadership improvements within their schools.  Many states have decided to adopt their own plans instead of the top-down requirements set forth by the NCLB.  

The first waivers from the NCLB were offered by the Obama Administration in February of 2012 after the Administration announced it would grant the waivers in September of 2011.  

U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan stated, “With the addition of Idaho, a growing number of states nationwide are receiving much-needed flexibility from No Child Left Behind.  More than a million students are now captured by states’ new accountability systems, and we continue to see impressive reform plans from the local level will drive student achievement and ensure that all students are ready for college and their careers.”

The 34 states that have received waivers from the NCLB are: Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Virginia, Washington and Wisconsin.  The District of Columbia has also received a waiver.  

Ten states currently have outstanding requests for waivers from the NCLB.  The following states have not requested a waiver so far: Montana, Nebraska, Pennsylvania, Texas, Vermont, and Wyoming.  

Source: U.S. Department of Education


Must Read

Understanding Special Education Understanding Special Education
What is Special Education?Special education refers to the education of students with special needs.
Functions of Department of Education Functions of Department of Education
  What is the Department of Education? The United States Department of Education, also known as the ED, is a governmental organization and Cabinet-level department of the United States Federal Government.
What are The Focuses of Environmental Education What are The Focuses of Environmental Education
  What is Environmental Education? Environmental education is an organized effort to teach about how natural ecosystems or environments function and more specifically, how human beings can manage their behavior in order to promote healthy and stable living.
Understanding The Importance of Education Understanding The Importance of Education
What is the Importance of Education?Given the recent political debate centering on cut-backs and the dissipation of teacher salaries, many Americans often lose sight regarding the true importance of education.
Adult Education Explained Adult Education Explained
What is Adult Education? Adult education refers to the practice of teaching and educating adults.